Archive for September, 2013

WB9LYH Has 21 and K8TQK 30 Check-Ins to Their Nets Last Wed.

Monday, September 9th, 2013

   6pm Monday —

   Finally, the net reports from last week. 
   Both nets featured great conditions.  With stagnant warm, humid weather over much of the USA for a few weeks now, band conditions have been enhanced plenty of the time.  This means instead of the usual 100-400 mile range on 2m SSB, guys are finding 500-1000 mile treats and those signals from 200-400 miles away that are normally light copy come busting in with armchair copy. 

   As my main rotor has been down since late July, I’ve not been on the air.  I should get some help in the next week or two.  I’d rather talk about who is on the air so let’s get to the net reports.  

   On Wed. Sept 4th, WB9LYH had 21 check-ins to his 144.240 net, which is called every Wed. at 0100Z/8pm central from EN54cl, right in the middle of WI.  All licensed amateurs are welcome and I’m glad to see several new calls again this week.  Mark’s 21 check-ins were:  KC9IK and WD9CPY in EN54;  N9OLT EN64;  N9JBW and K9CCL EN61;  W8SOL EN71;  AB9QH EN62;  KB9RDS EM69;  KB9AX EM69;  KC9CLM EN52;  K9LQZ EM68;  W9HQ EN43;  WA4REE EM65;  K9KHW EN63;  KI4ROF EM55;  W9BBP and WA9BNZ EN40;  WB0YWW and KG0SJ EN22;  N0IRS EM29 and W0HXL EN21.   That’s a great turnout and glad to see that EM65 and EM55 in Tennessee were able to make the path to Central WI.    

    On Mon., Sept 2nd, K8TQK had 30 check-ins, even on a holiday!  Bob calls his wide-range net from EM89je, far south-central OH.  K8TQK is on 144.252 at 0030Z, or 8:30pm eastern every Monday. 
   Last Monday, K8TQK’s 30 check-ins were:  N8AIA and N8WNA EN82;  W8SOL and KD8IME EN71;  W2UAD FN13;  NF8O, K8GDT and KD8FHY EN91;  VA3VEC FN14;  W9KXI FN12;  WD8CHR EN90;  AC3L/M FN00;  KD8DJE, W8WG, W8PU and KB8GUE EM89;  WA4NJP, W4LES, W4IMD and W4VAS EM84;  WD4NMV EM85, N4TLL  EM87;   N1GC EM95;  WA4REE EM65;  KI4ROF and N4CWS EM55;  KY4MRG EM77;  KB9RDS EM79;  K9MRI and KB8TDA EN70.

WB9LYH Calls 144.240 Long-Range Net Wed. Night

Tuesday, September 3rd, 2013

   2:15pm Tuesday

   Email from WB9LYH says that he plans on calling the 144.240 long-range net on both Sept. 4th and Sept. 11th.   Start time is 8pm central/9pm eastern.  Look toward EN54cl, right in the middle of WI.  Antenna pattern is first to the NE, then E, SE, S, SW, W, NW and N over the next hour or so. 

   Scroll down this front page for more details about the net, or to read last week’s net report, which had over 30 check-ins. 

   Also remember to make plans for the ARRL Sept. VHF Contest, on the weekend of the 14-15th.   The Aug. 28th post has a link where you can post your contesting plans to a Midwest/Great Lakes spreadsheet. 

   I should have net reports posted here before Thursday evening.