Midwest/Great Lakes 2m SSB Nets Full-Strength for Wed. March 9th. Three Options — Read On…

    Writing this just past noon on Tuesday.  
    Tomorrow night, we’ll have all 3 of our Long-Range 2m net options available.   Each has a big signal that gets out a long ways.  If you are within 300-500 miles of any of these net controls, listen along or say hello — help make 2m more active.   Also, if a net doesn’t interest you, realize we encourage all our check-ins to do their own CQ’ing down on 144.220 and lower.  There are dozens of 2m stations from much of the eastern half of the USA on the air on Wed. nights.  Get on and enjoy the activity.  
    We promote the use of the ON4KST.com real-time VHF/UHF chat.  On Friday, we celebrate the 1st anniversary of this valuable resource.   The chat is free, no BS or losers and is available anytime for ALL USA/VE hams who enjoy weak-signal VHF/UHF.   Choose the IARU Region 2 Room for 144-432 MHz.   (ON4KST.com himself has assured us that activity above 432 MHz is just fine, also)    Visit this post   http://kc9bqa.com/?p=3765 for help getting logged in.  
    To me, the reason for this chat is to help you post weak-signal activity, and help you make contacts you might have otherwise missed.   If you have a computer near your rig, log into the chat and tell guys where you’re CQ’ing and which direction you are pointed.   Scan the band and tell guys in the chat what you are hearing.   If enough guys in different areas do this nightly or on weekends, it will mean a lot of new contacts in everyone’s log. 

    HERE ARE THE THREE NET OPTIONS WED. NIGHT:
    1)   WB9LYH EN54cl, middle of WI.   Mark is on 144.240, starting at 0100Z, or 7pm central/8pm eastern.   He starts out looking northeast into the U.P. of MI and then slowly goes clockwise a full 360 over the next 60-90 minutes.  
    2)   K8TQK EM89je, south-central OH.   Bob is on 144.250, starting at 0130Z, or 7:30pm central/8:30pm eastern.  He starts out looking north toward Detroit and Cleveland, and then goes clockwise a full 360 over the next 60-90 minutes. 
    3)   KA0KYZ EN33qw, far southeast MN.  Terry is on 144.230, now starting at 0300Z, or 9pm central.  He starts out looking east and can work into MI and IN.  For some of you out east, this may be the easiest MN target to get in your 144 MHz log.    KA0KYZ does make a full circle, also going clockwise, and he is always in the on4kst.com chat, available to rotate where you ask.  If you have night owl in you, get involved with this Wed. night option.  I suspect as the weather gets warmer, we’re going to have some really fun surprises with KA0KYZ’s 144.230 net. 

    Our net controls have staggered start times and frequencies so you can try for all 3, if you care to.  They enjoy promoting more overall activity on 2m, and would enjoy hearing from you.   We would also appreciate you spreading the word to any hams you can think of.   Many hams will give weak-signal VHF/UHF a try, IF they know where and when to find the activity.

One Response to “Midwest/Great Lakes 2m SSB Nets Full-Strength for Wed. March 9th. Three Options — Read On…”

  1. Steve Davis Says:

    A great effort by the net controls, great group.