Last Wed’s 2m Net Reports + Monday Night Activity

   1:15pm Monday — 
   The 144.240 net was OFF last Wed.   WB9LYH was unavailable and I had lightning at net time.   WB9LYH is back on 144.240 this week, at the usual starting time for summer — 0100Z/7pm central/8pm eastern.   The other net controls should also be on; click on the link below (item #4) if you want more info.   
   The goal is to make Wed. evening full of activity on 2m SSB.   You can help with this by 1) spreading the word and 2) sliding down below 144.220 and calling your own CQ’s in various directions.   Several dozen stations checking into nets is nice.   BUT, when those several dozen stations help create even more activity, on different frequencies, in different directions, that’s when 2m SSB really comes alive. 

   Last Wed.  K8TQK was on 144.250 from EM89je, south-central OH, at 0030Z/8:30pm eastern.   In fact, I have two weeks of net reports from Bob. 
   May 4th — 8 Check-ins:  KD8OEK, AC8IS, KG8EK, AC8EO, WT8E and WA8FFT all EM89;  K8GDT EN91;  VE3VII FN03. 
   May 11th — 15 Check-ins:  KD8OEK, AC8IS, KB8JNE, KG8EK, WT8E, W8WG, KD8DJJE, WA8SST and KC8ITN all EM89;  WB8AUK EN80;  VE3DXP EN92;  W2KV FN20;  KI4ROF EM55;  KD8HHK EM79 and N8WNA EN82.   W2KV and KI4ROF definitely get the DX award (no prize $, sorry).   Good to have NJ and west TN on board with K8TQK.    K8TQK has a whopping signal, guys.  If you’re with 300-500 miles of him, chances are you’ll hear something.   Help us spread the word in a large circle surrounding south-central OH.   
    
    KA0KYZ was net control on 144.230 at 0200Z/9pm central from EN33qw.   Terry had company stop by so his net started a little late.   There were still 6 check-ins:   WV9E EN43;  KB0UCO, KC0AAB and KB0SPM EN33;  K0SIX EN35 and W8BYA EN70.      

    Other topics…  
    2)  Tonight’s weekly activity on 144.250 from N0PB from 0045-0200Z, from EM39, north-central MO and 432.100 from N4PZ in EN52gb, (half hour WSW of Rockford, IL)  starting @0100Z.   Both Phil and Steve have outstanding range and would appreciate you stopping by. 

    3)  I’ve heard or read nothing about the 6m Spring Sprint that was on Sat. night.   I saw no reports of E skip openings anywhere in the US, and I know that locally, our weather was miserable.   15-25 mph winds; cold and rainy.    I was not on as my 6m beam snapped in half this winter.   Besides that, my 6, 222 and 432 rotor is not currently working.  
     3a)  Newer VHF contesters need to know that the Sprints are always a lot quieter than the ARRL or CQ WW VHF Contests.   It’s been that way as long as I’ve been on (late 2003).
     
    4)    Our trio of Wed. 2m net controls should be full strength this week — nice weather is forecast.    See this post from May 3rd if you want more info.:  http://kc9bqa.com/?p=4688

    5)  This website must have had publicity somewhere because the number of unique visitors shot up the past 3 days.   Glad to have as many visitors as possible as long as it helps get more signals on the SSB/CW portions of VHF/UHF. 
 
    6)  KA1ZE’s 144.205 group every morning @1200Z is doing great.   Very enjoyable  to read his daily email reports.   A good announcement about this from KA1ZE himself is here:   http://kc9bqa.com/?p=4582

One Response to “Last Wed’s 2m Net Reports + Monday Night Activity”

  1. JD Says:

    Grid Bandit web site now averaging about 500 visits per day. Your blog is very popular. I’ll run the stats for your link and email the results Todd. Keep up the great work! JD.N0IRS