Band Conditions are Up. Will They Stay That Way for the Nets Tonight?

   6:45am central Wed. morning.  
   The nets are ON tonight.   Bands were up yesterday and probably are this morning, given the thick fog outside my window.   My overnight emails have plenty of DX reports from both 2m SSB stations and those who DX on FM broadcast (88-108MHz).   Get on, call CQ and enjoy what 2m SSB/CW has to offer.   Remember — if everyone’s “just listening”, then nobody will ever hear a thing. 

  In conjunction with the Wed. night nets, we always encourage all hams to call CQ in various directions, down below the nets, on 144.220 and lower.  The whole idea is to make 2m SSB/CW full of signals at least one night per week.  (7 nights per week would be better. 🙂  ) 

   Tonight, we do our part by offering 3 long-range net controls with great signals. 
   K8TQK on 144.250 at 0030Z/8:30pm eastern.  Bob’s in EM89je, far south-central OH.  Starts out looking north, goes clockwise over the next 45-60 minutes. 
   WB9LYH on 144.240 at 0100Z/8pm central.  Mark’s in EN54cl, smack in the middle of WI.  Starts out looking northeast, goes clockwise over the next 60-90 minutes.
   KA0KYZ on 144.230 at 0200Z/9pm central.  Terry’s in EN33qw, far SE MN.  Starts out looking ENE, goes clockwise over the next hour or so.  Terry’s the night owl, and you may find activity until 0400Z or later.  
   

   It is not my goal to list every net in the USA at this website.  The focus is on the Midwest/Great Lakes here.  However, since Wed. night is already the busiest 2m SSB night in the entire USA/Canada, it’s worth knowing about these other Wed. nets:
  1)  EN91kk, Cleveland OH, K8ZWY starting at 0100Z/9pm eastern on 144.230.   
  2)  EL99ld, Daytona Beach FL, W2RAC/W1LVL, starting at 0000Z on 144.250.
  3)  EM13, near Ft. Worth, TX, W5FKN, starting at 0200Z on 144.250.    Starts south, goes counter-clockwise.

  I do have a fairly comprehensive listing of other known active nets at this link:  http://kc9bqa.com/?p=5017  This covers multiple nights, states and bands.  The whole idea with this website is to keep weak-signal V/UHF alive and active.

Comments are closed.