*Revised* Net Controls for Wed., Feb. 22nd. WB9LYH and K8TQK

   4:40pm Monday
   Just got email from K8TQK.  Bob says his rotor problem has been fixed and he’ll be back on with his 144.250 net this Wednesday, at 0130Z or 8:30pm eastern time.  K8TQK’s in EM89je, or far south-central OH.  His signal gets out a long, long ways.  Under normal conditions, Bob has reach into the following states/provinces:  ONT, MI, IN, OH, NY, PA, NJ, MD, DE, WVA, VA, NC/SC, GA, AL, MS, TN, KY, IL, plus parts of E AR, E MO, E IA, SE MN and S WI.  I hope some night he can work 20 states or more with a single net.  All it takes is guys who are on, and pointing his way. 
    Remember that K8TQK starts his net by pointing north, then he slowly swings clockwise, going NE, E, SE, S, SW, W, and NW over the next hour or so. 

    This Wed. on 144.240, we also will have WB9LYH in EN54cl — smack dab in the middle of WI.  Mark starts his net at 0100Z, or 7pm central time.  He also has an exceptional 2m signal.   Stacked 17B2’s and 500w from a ridgetop location.  WB9LYH has made many QSO’s in the 400-500 mile range to well-equipped stations while he’s run this net the past few years. 

     BOTH OUR NET CONTROLS LOVE DX CHECK-INS.  We would appreciate it very much if you’d help spread the word farther and farther.  Warmer weather will be here in a month or two, and neat things will start happening, IF we have enough activity. 

     Also, please remember to call your own CQ’s at any time.   Everything we do here is to encourage more overall 2m SSB/CW activity at any time.  30-40 guys saying hello to a single net control is nice, and we appreciate it.  BUT… when you get a few dozen guys in different states and grids calling CQ in various directions, that’s what really makes for a lively and enjoyable band.  Don’t fall into the passive trap of “just listening”.  Be an active CQ’er and improve activity levels.

Comments are closed.