KC9BQA (144.240) and K8TQK (144.250) Will Be ON This Wed., Mar. 14th

   9am Monday – 

   Getting caught up with a bunch of things, after being on vacation for a while.   Man, am I excited about the huge warm-up that’s forecast for a large portion of the USA.  We’re forecast to be 20-30 degrees above normal for at least the next week, and quite possibly into the March 20-25th time frame.   Will some band openings come with the abnormally warm weather?   Keep your rigs on and call CQ.  Remember that if 50 guys are all “just listening” NOBODY WILL HEAR A THING.    :)   

   I now know that I am taking the 144.240 net at 7pm central/8pm eastern/now 0000Z UTC time.   PLEASE NOTE THAT UTC TIMES HAVE CHANGED, now that most of the USA turned their clocks ahead early Sunday morning.   Our net times have NOT changed, but the UTC time has. 
  
   To repeat, this Wed., March 14th, we have two net controls:
   1)  KC9BQA  EN63ao  (40 miles north of Milwaukee) on 144.240 at 0000Z or 8pm eastern/7pm central time. 
   2)  K8TQK  EM89je  (far south-central OH) on 144.240 at 0030Z or 8:30pm eastern. 
   Both net controls start out looking N, then slowly swing clockwise, calling CQ frequently over the next 60-90 minutes.  Talking NE, E, SE, S, SW, W, NW and back to N before signing off.  
   The nets are informal, only purpose is to stir up more activity on 2m SSB.  All are welcome, please help us spread the word.  Remember we enjoy DX check-ins, we’ll hang in there for a noise-level QSO.   ALSO, can’t emphasize this enough.  I’m going bold print so VHF’ers will take this to heart.  
   The biggest goal of this blog is to help promote more activity on bands like 50, 144, 222 and 432 MHz at any time.   I continue to believe the weak-signal V/UHF bands are too quiet.  The cure for this really isn’t calling weekly nets.  The goal is to have a variety of stations calling CQ, swinging their beams in all directions, turning their VFO’s, spreading out a bit from 144.200 to avoid congestion.  
  
  Two more things:  1)  Prior to starting these nets in June of 2008, I had no idea how many hams still have SSB/CW-capable gear and antennas on V/UHF.  2)  If a majority of these stations would simply get on and call CQ for 15-30 minutes every week or two, we would be all set, activity-wise.  We truly would.  We wouldn’t need nets to help stir up activity, because hams would be proactive about doing it themselves.  
    Bottom line – we encourage everyone to get on the air and do your own CQ’ing.

Comments are closed.