Wed. Night Nets — KC9BQA *ON* 144.240 and K8TQK *OFF* 144.252

   4:15pm Tues.

   Hope everyone had a nice Memorial Day.  Veterans — thank you for your service to our country. 

  
   The nets tomorrow night will be the same as last week.  I’m on 144.240, starting at 0100Z/8pm central/9pm eastern.  Next week, WB9LYH in EN54cl should be back.  I start out looking north for a few minutes, then rotate clockwise about 20-30 degrees at a time, calling CQ frequently.  It usually takes me at least 60-90 minutes to do a full 360, depending on how many check-ins we have and what conditions are like.  
   A rough guide is that between 0100-0120, I’m looking first into the U.P. of MI, then NE and E into Lower MI, VE-3 and then ESE into N OH.  Between 0115-0130, I am usually looking SE into IN and OH.  Between 0125-0145, I’m looking SSE to SW, or into Western IN, KY, ILL, S WI and E MO.  Between 0135-0200, I’m usually looking SW into SW WI, IA, adjacent parts of KS and NE and NW MO.  After 0150-0210, I am usually looking W or NW into far N IA, MN, the northwest 3/4 of WI and adjacent parts of Upper MI. 
   All licensed amateurs are welcome to listen along or check in.  The nets are informal and the purpose is to promote activity on less-used portions of 2m.   
  
   I encourage all weak-signal VHF’ers to call CQ more often — just not on the net frequencies while we’re using them, hihi!    On bands like ours, which are usually too quiet, it’s important to make a little noise.  Get in the habit of calling CQ in various directions.   When bands are dead, that’s a good time to make some CQ’s.  When they’re busy, that’s a good time to listen carefully.   It’s most effective to do your CQ’ing on or near 144.200.  If you get something going on .200, please QSY and leave the calling frequency open.

Comments are closed.