WB9LYH Calls 144.240 Net from EN54 @8pm Central Tonight

   7:45am Wed. 

   Expect WB9LYH to put his big signal out there tonight, at the usual time of 8pm central/9pm eastern.  Mark is located in EN54cl, which is the middle of WI, about an hour and a half north of Madison.   From Central WI, WB9LYH first looks northeast, then E, SE, S, SW, W, NW and N over the next hour or so.  All licensed amateurs are welcome and the nets are informal.  Purpose is to increase activity on 2m SSB. 
   We can only do so much to increase activity.  We encourage all “weak-signal” V/UHF ops to get on the air and do their own CQ’ing.  Been singing this tune for over 5 years now, and it’s good advice.  If you have a band where 20 hams are all “just listening” how much activity will anyone hear?  That’s right — nothing.  So the way to improve the health of quiet bands is to call CQ.   

   Will conditions be enhanced tonight?  Could very well be.  The overall stagnant weather pattern is conducive to enhancement. 
   Back on Monday night, the 144 MHz Fall Sprint had many reports of long-haul tropo across a wide area of the Midwest, Mid-South and Mid-Atlantic.  Lot of fun was had by those who got on and called CQ Sprint.  

   K9LQZ has also been getting on 144.240 on Wed. nights, from his EM68 QTH, a half hour NW of Louisville, KY.   Lowell has a big signal and he’s been helping us find activity from areas we can’t normally reach from WI.  If you live a long ways southeast, south or southwest of WI, look toward K9LQZ in southern IN starting about 0120Z/9:20pm eastern.

Comments are closed.