ARRL Sept. VHF Contest is Sept. 10-11th Post Your Plans Here

3:50pm Wed.

Last day of August — where did this summer go?

I still like to announce every major VHF/UHF contest and the last one for 2016 is the ARRL Sept. VHF Contest.  The next multi-band contest isn’t until the ARRL Jan. VHF in early 2017.

The ARRL Sept. VHF contest starts at 1pm central (1800 UTC time) on Sat., Sept. 10th, and runs 33 hours until 10pm central Sun, Sept. 11th (or 0300 UTC time on Monday, Sept. 12th).  All bands 50 MHz and higher are in play.  Link to the ARRL announcement and rules — http://www.arrl.org/september-vhf

  Please help spread the word and talk the contest up.  Start making plans to get on the air.   Consider posting your contest plans here —  http://tinyurl.com/SeptVHF2016   That links to an interactive Google spreadsheet created by W0UC Paul in EN44.  You can view contest plans by both fixed stations and rovers there.  Please add your own plans (even if they’re casual) and help spread the word.  VHF/UHF needs more signals on the air.

Please read the following before you post any plans to the tinyurl link above.

1)  I know nothing about a Google spreadsheet.  I’m just the messenger.
2)  Notice on the lower left that there are tabs for both fixed stations and rovers.
3)  Even if you’re part-time or you don’t know exactly when you can be on, post your general intentions anyway.  This is fun, not a legally binding contract.  ?
4)  We kindly ask that with this sheet, the emphasis remains on WI and nearby states.  We’re NOT trying to create a nationwide sheet.  If you are more than say 300-400 miles from WI, considering doing something similar for your own area.  It would be a big boost to V/UHF contesting if there were similar listings for other parts of the USA and Canada.
5)  Because this is an interactive spreadsheet, remember to check back from time-to-time and view updated plans from both fixed stations and rovers.

Comments are closed.